Tuney Tuesday: Dedication to the Family Visit

To my Fabulous Family,

I could have went with something like ‘Leaving on a Jet Plane’ for this one but somehow the words weren’t in the right context. Did you know that Devo actually sang this to me once? He doesn’t remember this, him and that photogenic memory of his, but I do. We were snuggled up on the couch, arms wrapped around each other. It was sweet, romantic, and the only time in my life that a man serenaded me. ☺

Now I know our recent visit wasn’t filled with thrill seeking adventures or very much excitement. It seemed to be more about checking off boxes and we so appreciated your help. But it was filled with quiet moments in close proximity. Moments where we were able to share our thoughts, passions and ideas. Moments where we bonded over music and gemstones. Moments filled with laughter and smiles as we marveled at how well the kids got along. It was ‘something unpredictable and in the end it’s right.’ So please ‘take the photographs and still frames in your mind, hang them on a shelf in good health and good time.’ For ‘what it’s worth, it was worth all the while.’ ☺

So I am dubbing this our family song. Maybe if we ever take the leap down the aisle, you guys can a perform a duet!? I printed off the uke cords last night (hint hint). At least the next time we see each other we might be able to jam to it? I love the violins in the solo… (also a hint hint).

So do me a favor dear S.I.L., gather the family around when you hit play and have a listen. Please know that we love you all very much and your visit has left us wanting more, more time with all of you. You may look back upon your visit and wish we could have done more, but don’t. I just hope you all had the ‘Time of Your Life’ (Greenday, Nimrod album, 1997). Until next time…

Leave a Reply

