Survived my First Solo Gig (with some help)

I just love it when people follow their dreams. I love it even more when they share the experience with us. Can we take a minute to give Nissetje props for surviving her first solo gig?

Barking Back

My improvised laptop stand: a thin wooden box decorated by yours truly. My improvised laptop stand: a thin wooden box decorated by yours truly. The grey cat is inspecting it for crumbs.

This past Saturday, I did my first ever solo DJ gig. All me, all night, booked for three hours. I was excited and terrified, since the longest set I’ve ever done in public before was only forty minutes, and I have always had sister DJs with me as mutual backup and support.

The venue was a downtown restaurant. They don’t have a dance floor and they weren’t expecting dancing, although they did know I mostly play house music and were okay with that. I planned to tone it down a bit for the beginning of the evening and so I prepped a lot of chill house, like St. Germain and Laurent Garnier.

On the day of, I had slept well but then couldn’t nap much during the day. Was starting…

View original post 2,376 more words

