And So I Weep

I keep thinking

 tragic events

should not overtake my soul

with such shock, pain and disbelief

any history book would support my claim

it is part of our heritage

passed down through the generations

the desire to obliterate

eradicate

innocent souls

to dominate

to gain control

to strike fear into the living

for complacency

perhaps to perpetuate the violent cycle

for the “justified” retaliation that will ensue

And so I weep

for fallen soldiers

legions of armies

for the families

for the people

devastated by  horrific events

I feel their screams of pain

their tears tear at my heart

burdened with their grief,

I weep

lest we forget

our “civil”izations were built upon rivers of blood

bodies thrown into pits

discarded

like litter

Lest we forget our history

of the darkness that follows our footsteps forward

plant poppies in Remembrance

seeds of love

understanding

acceptance

cooperation

unity

FORGIVENESS!

 

Lest we forget

where we have been

and what we yearn to become

Until then,

peace will be a fallacy

In solemn remembrance

for everyone who has been lost,

or has lost,

anyone or anything

at the hands of another

my heart bleeds for all of you

And so I weep…

10 thoughts on “And So I Weep

Leave a Reply

