Hoar Frost Obsession

It has just been one of those weeks. I am feeling a little like the flies that are crawling out of the crevices of my house – slow, sluggish and dim-witted. My brain is covered in a dense fog that I can’t seem to shake. As such, I have been trying to sleep it off and relax a little bit more. I didn’t get a chance to post these pictures last week for The Weekly Photo Challenge: Seasons, but I will do so now, just so I can share with you an obsession of mine.

It all began with a drive.It appeared as though the land was dusted with diamonds, the way the hoar frost had created ice pellets that glittered in the snow. When we arrived at ourΒ destination I took these two pictures:

Perhaps this is just something that I took for granted – this accumulation of condensation on the trees in the winter time. Sometimes, I think, that without my camera lens, I wouldn’t be so inclined to investigate things a little more closely.

And sometimes it grows in the middle of nowhere…

 

Whatever the case, I am happy to have this hobby, as it always brings to light some of the intricate beauty that is around me.

Happy Sunday everyone. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.:)

 

45 thoughts on “Hoar Frost Obsession

    1. Thank you! Only a few more months of cold weather here 😣 How are the bugs there? I seem to ask everyone that question… the mosquitoes make me hide during the summer nights.

      Like

  1. Your photos are great! Not many people seem to know what Hoar Frost is. it takes a specific set of conditions for it to form. growing up in Michigan, I noticed it would stand out as unusual looking.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

